European refining margin:
the sky’s the limit

Energodigest | 30 June 2022
Europe is still struggling after it banned Russian oil imports, and the debate about Russia’s ‘black gold’ is now in full swing. While alternative supplies from Norway (Johan Sverdrup), Iraq (Basrah Medium), Egypt (Suez Blend) and other countries are becoming increasingly significant amid changes in global supply chains, Russia continues to be the region’s major supplier, with an average of 1.4 million b/d shipped to Europe by sea last week.[1] Note, however, that this is 23% less than in late February (see Fig. 1), with oil supplies destined for Europe (excluding those by pipeline) having shrunk from around 60% to 40% of Russia’s total oil exports.
European refiners who purchase Russian crude are benefiting from its low price, as it is sold at a substantial discount to Brent ($30/bbl vs. an average of $1.6/bbl in 2015-21, see Fig. 2), while those who don’t are at a disadvantage to their Asian peers, who are now increasing their take from Russia. When it comes to margins, there is a mixed picture within the region: according to our estimates, the refining margin in Rotterdam has soared to $185 per tonne (+340% YTD), while in Mediterranean countries, which continue to rely mostly on Urals as the preferred feedstock for cracking purposes, it has jumped from $23 to $330 per tonne (see Fig. 3).

Even if we leave aside differences in configuration and, hence, the refined product mix, spreads between product prices and feedstock costs continue to widen, and this is especially true for Urals. As seen in Fig. 4, the average price gap between a tonne of gasoline and a tonne of Urals was around $670 in June, compared with $170 six months ago, while in the case of Brent it was around $500. Middle distillates show the same trend, with a tonne of kerosene and diesel fuel priced at a premium of $730 and $630 to Urals vs. $565 and $455 to Brent, respectively.

So refiners in Europe are earning lucrative margins and have no plans to shift to lighter oils, which is quite understandable, considering the region’s focus on reducing dependence on hydrocarbons for power generation in the coming decades. Meanwhile, they are betting on Iranian Light, a medium sour grade, as they transition from Russia’s heavy crude. The nuclear deal has re-emerged in the headlines this week. Should the new round of talks with Iran come to a standstill, a shortage of heavy oil grades will become an even more real threat, and the Urals discount to Brent will narrow as the ban on seaborne imports of Russian crude oil takes force.

Show references

[1] Bloomberg

Subscribe to Moscow Energy Center mailings
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies.
Accept

Маржа европейских НПЗ: выше только небо

Энергодайджест | 30 июня 2022 г.
Европа пока никак не может приспособиться к отмене импорта нефти из России, и дискуссии о судьбе российского черного золота идут полным ходом. Несмотря на наличие целого ряда альтернатив (норвежская Johan Sverdrup, иракская Basrah Medium, египетская Suez Blend и пр.), общая доля которых в объеме европейского импорта становится все заметнее в силу трансформации глобальных цепочек поставок, Россия по-прежнему продолжает снабжать Европу сырьем: на прошлой неделе морским путем в регион доставлялось в среднем около 1,4 млн барр. в сутки[1]. Стоит, однако, признать, что это на 23% меньше, чем в конце февраля (см. рис. 1), а доля европейского направления в общем объеме российского экспорта (без учета трубопроводных поставок) снизилась с примерно 60% до 40%.

Европейские НПЗ, закупающие российскую нефть, получают немалую выгоду за счет дисконта по отношению к Brent, который в июне составил 30 долл. США за баррель (для сравнения, в 2015-2021 годах – в среднем 1,6 долл. США за баррель, см. рис. 2), в то время как остальные переработчики находятся в невыгодном положении по сравнению со своими азиатскими конкурентами, которые наращивают потребление нефти из России. Разница заметна и внутри региона: если в Роттердаме маржа переработки, по нашим оценкам, с начала года выросла в 4,4 раза до 185 долл. США за тонну, то в Средиземноморье, где в большей степени в качестве сырья для крекинга продолжают использовать Urals, она подскочила с 23 до примерно 330 долл. США за тонну (см. рис. 3).

Даже если опустить особенности конфигурации заводов (структура выхода нефтепродуктов), спреды между рыночной ценой нефтепродуктов и сырья продолжают расти, особенно в случае с Urals. Как видно из рис. 4, дифференциал по бензину к тонне российской нефти составил около 670 долл. США в среднем за июнь (для сравнения, около 170 долл. США в первый месяц текущего года), а к североморской смеси Brent – около 500 долл. США. Аналогичная ситуация наблюдается по средним дистиллятам: спред по керосину в среднем составил около 730 долл. США за тонну, а по дизельному топливу – 630 долл. США (против 565 и 455 долл. США соответственно при крекинге Brent).

Таким образом, НПЗ в Европе зарабатывают все больше, а массового переоснащения на прием легких сортов нефти, судя по всему, не предвидится, что вполне объяснимо, учитывая нацеленность Европы на снижение доли углеводородов в энергопотреблении в ближайшие десятилетия. В переходный период на пути к замене высокосернистой российской нефти ставка делается на иранский экспортный сорт Iranian Light. На этой неделе вновь появилась информация об очередном раунде переговоров по ядерной сделке. Однако если они опять застопорятся, то по мере вступления в силу ограничений ЕС на импорт танкерной нефти из России риски дефицита высокосернистых сортов будут возрастать, а дисконт Urals по отношению к Brent – сокращаться.

Показать ссылки
[1] Bloomberg
Подпишитесь на рассылку Московского энергетического центра