Foreign exchange revenues don’t have to be sold. Do funds need to be transferred to Russia?

22 June 2022
Law Messenger
In June the Russian authorities eased or eliminated most foreign exchange restrictions that had applied to residents since late February. This primarily concerns the requirement that exporters sell a portion of their foreign exchange revenues (the so-called surrender requirement). Presidential Decree No. 360, dated 9 June 2022, authorized the Government Commission for Control of Foreign Investment (the Government Commission) to determine the share of revenue to be sold. On the same day, the Government Commission adopted a resolution that zero percent of a resident’s foreign exchange revenues would be subject to mandatory sale (Protocol No. 61, dated 9 June 2022.) The surrender requirement has thus been cancelled for the present.

At the same time, certain restrictions on receiving foreign exchange funds on foreign accounts remain in effect. Presidential Decree No. 79, dated 28 February 2022, imposed a general ban on crediting any such amounts for any reason. The following exceptions currently apply:
The introduction of a zero rate for the surrender requirement has raised the question as to whether a resident is required to transfer foreign exchange revenues received under a foreign trade contract to its Russian account. Earlier, the CBR, in its Explanation No. 3-OR, dated 4 April 2022, directly stated that the requirements of Decree No. 79 applied to transactions for which the requirement to transfer foreign exchange revenues to a Russian account was canceled as of 1 July 2021 as a result of the liberalization of foreign exchange law.

However, taking into account the introduction of a zero rate for the surrender requirement, it remains to be seen which government interests may be impacted, should a resident exercise its right under the Law on Currency Control to credit such revenue to its foreign account for an indefinite term or to discharge a liability to a nonresident in a different way (offset, novation of liability, debt forgiveness, etc.).

In any event, as long as the regulator has not stated its position on the issue, a resident enjoys a grace period of 120 business days during which it may keep funds on its foreign account and request a written explanation of regulatory provisions from its authorized bank.

Authors:
Georgy Kovalenko
Partner
Law Group
Vasily Makovkin
Director
Law Group
Contact us

Learn more about our services by filling in the feedback form, or send us a request for proposal by email. Select the appropriate option.
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies.
Accept

Продавать валютную выручку не требуется. Требуется ли перечислять денежные средства в Россию?

22 июня 2022 г.
Law Messenger
В июне российские власти смягчили и даже в значительной степени упразднили меры валютного контроля, введенные для резидентов с конца февраля. В первую очередь это касается требования об обязательной продаже экспортерами части валютной выручки — Указ Президента № 360 от 9 июня 2022 года передал право определять подлежащую продаже долю выручки Правительственной комиссии по контролю за осуществлением иностранных инвестиций («Правкомиссия»). В тот же день Правкомиссия приняла решение о том, что продаже подлежит 0 процентов полученной резидентом валютной выручки (протокол № 61 от 9 июня 2022). То есть на текущий момент режим обязательной продажи валютной выручки прекращен.

При этом для резидентов продолжает действовать ряд ограничений на получение иностранной валюты на свои иностранные счета. Указ Президента № 79 от 28 февраля 2022 года установил общий запрет на зачисление любых сумм по любым основаниям, из которого на сегодня сделаны следующие исключения:
Введение нулевой ставки продажи валютной выручки ставит вопрос о том, требуется ли резиденту в принципе переводить полученную по внешнеторговому контракту валюту на свой российский счет. Ранее ЦБ РФ в своем разъяснении № 3-ОР от 4 апреля 2022 прямо указал, что требования Указа № 79 распространяются и на сделки, в отношении которых требование об обязательном зачислении валютной выручки на российский счет было с 1 июля 2021 года отменено в результате либерализации валютного законодательства.

Однако с учетом «обнуления» обязанности по продаже валютной выручки остается неясным, какие интересы государства могут пострадать, если резидент воспользуется предоставленным Законом о валютном контроле правом бессрочно зачислить такую выручку на свой иностранный счет или прекратить обязательство с нерезидентом иным способом (зачет, новация обязательства, прощение долга и т. п.).

В любом случае, пока регулятор не озвучил свою позицию по данному вопросу, у резидента есть «льготный период» продолжительностью 120 рабочих дней, в течение которого он может хранить полученные денежные средства на иностранном счете и сделать запрос о разъяснении регулирующих норм в свой уполномоченный банк.

Авторы:
Георгий Коваленко
Партнер
Группа оказания юридических услуг
Василий Маковкин
Директор
Группа оказания юридических услуг
Свяжитесь с нами

Узнайте подробнее о наших услугах, заполнив форму обратной связи, или отправьте запрос на тендер по электронной почте. Выберите подходящий вариант.
На нашем сайте используются файлы cookies, которые делают его более удобным для каждого пользователя. Посещая страницы сайта, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.
Принять