Draft requirements for advertising platforms

18 July 2022
Tax Messenger
On 5 July 2022 the State Duma passed in the first reading draft law No. 141597-8 (“the bill”) setting out a range of amendments to the Federal Law “On Information, Information Technology and Information Protection”. The bill proposes the insertion in the law of a new Article 10.7 laying down the obligations of the owner of a website and (or) a webpage and (or) an information system and (or) a computer programme which is designed and (or) used as a means for its users to interact with each other for the purpose of selling (supplying) goods, performing work, rendering services, looking for suitable work and (or) recruiting required personnel by enabling users to post their own advertisements concerning the sale (supply) of goods, the performance of work, the rendering of services, the seeking of suitable work and (or) the recruitment of required personnel, thematically grouped according to the content of the advertisements, and by enabling users to respond to such advertisements independently, and which is visited by more than ten million Internet users located in the Russian Federation in the course of one month (“advertising platform”). Among other things, the bill proposes the following amendments as far as the obligations of an advertising platform owner are concerned:
  • A definition of an advertising platform owner is established whereby such an owner must be a Russian legal entity or a Russian citizen who does not hold citizenship of any other state. The level of foreign ownership, control and management of interests (shares) in the capital of an advertising platform is limited to 20% (clause 7 of Article 10.7 of the bill)
  • Requirements are established for the activities of advertising platforms in terms of compliance with Russian law, including prohibitions and restrictions prescribed by referendum and election legislation, observance of the rights and legitimate interests of individuals and organisations, and ensuring that a platform is not used for unlawful purposes or for the purpose of denigrating an individual or particular categories of individuals (clause 1 of Article 10.7 of the bill)
  • If an advertising platform is found to contain information that is disseminated in violation of the law, the federal executive body in charge of control and supervision in the area of mass media, mass communications, information technology and telecommunications will send the owner of the advertising platform an order to take measures to remedy the violations. In the event of repeated failure to comply with such an order in the course of one year, the federal body in question may file a petition with a court for the restriction of access to the advertising platform (clause 10 of Article 10.7 of the bill)
  • The bill also makes it obligatory for advertising platform owners to display an email address for legal correspondence, as well as their surname and initials (in the case of an individual) or operating name (in the case of a legal entity); to make it possible for audience size to be examined by an authorised organisation and to enable the integration and interaction of the platform with the unified identification and authentication system and the unified portal of state and municipal services (clause 1 of Article 10.7 of the bill)
What do these changes mean for businesses?

If passed, the proposed law would mark a new phase in the regulation of advertising platforms. Companies would face hefty requirements that could affect their growth performance and would lead to tighter control over the IT sector.

Furthermore, advertising platforms that are more than 20% foreign-owned would have two months in which to reduce that level of ownership in order to avoid being blocked in the territory of the Russian Federation. Having to take urgent measures of this kind within a short period of time may give rise to substantial tax and business risks.

The bill has so far only been passed in the first reading. We will continue to monitor the progress of the bill and keep you informed of any changes.
How can B1 help?

The B1 can provide prompt support in discussing matters relating to changes in the obligations of advertising platform owners. Our services may include:
  • Assessing the tax and legal risks for a company
  • Analysing the structure of a group to determine compliance with the proposed requirements
  • Developing a target structure for the company based on the requirements of the law
  • Developing a plan for transition to the target structure taking account of tax and legal implications
  • Assistance in the creation of a new business model based on the new target structure
  • Liaising with executive bodies in charge of control and supervision in the area of mass media, mass communications, information technology and telecommunications

Authors:
Natalia Khobrakova
Associate Partner
Technology, Media and
Telecommunication Group
Natalia.Khobrakova@b1.ru
Ilia Ponurovskii
Manager
Technology, Media and
Telecommunication Group
Ilia.Ponurovskii@b1.ru
Elizaveta Karimova
Staff
Technology, Media and
Telecommunication Group
Elizaveta.Karimova@b1.ru
Contact us

Learn more about our services by filling in the feedback form, or send us a request for proposal by email. Select the appropriate option.
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies.
Accept

Проект требований к сервисам размещения объявлений

18 июля 2022 г.
Tax Messenger
5 июля 2022 года Государственной Думой в первом чтении был принят законопроект № 141 597−8 (далее — «Законопроект»), предусматривающий ряд изменений в Федеральный закон «Об информации, информационных технологиях и о защите информации». Законопроектом предусмотрено дополнение закона новой статьей 10.7, определяющей обязанности владельца сайта и (или) страницы сайта в сети «Интернет» и (или) информационной системы и (или) программы для электронных вычислительных машин, которые предназначены и (или) используются для организации взаимодействия их пользователей между собой в целях продажи (реализации) товаров, выполнения работ, оказания услуг, поиска подходящей работы и (или) подбора необходимых работников за счет предоставления пользователям возможности самостоятельно размещать объявления о продаже (реализации) товаров, выполнении работ, оказании услуг, поиске подходящей работы и (или) подборе необходимых сотрудников, тематически сгруппированные в зависимости от содержания таких объявлений, а также за счет предоставления пользователям возможности самостоятельно обращаться по таким объявлениям, и доступ к которым в течение одного месяца составляет более десяти миллионов пользователей сети «Интернет», находящихся на территории Российской Федерации (далее — «Сервис размещения объявлений»). Среди прочего, Законопроект предусматривает следующие изменения в части установления обязанностей владельца сервиса размещения:

  • Устанавливается определение владельца сервиса размещения объявлений, в качестве которого может выступать российское юридическое лицо или гражданин Российской Федерации, не имеющий гражданства другого государства. Доля иностранного владения, контроля и управления долями (акциями) в уставном капитале сервиса размещения объявлений ограничивается 20% (пункт 7 статьи 107 Законопроекта)
  • Устанавливаются требования к деятельности сервисов размещения объявлений о соблюдении законодательства Российской Федерации, в том числе запретов и ограничений, предусмотренных законодательством о референдуме и выборах, соблюдении прав и законных интересов граждан и организаций, а также о недопущении использования ресурса в противоправных целях и с целью опорочить гражданина или отдельные категории граждан (пункт 1 статьи 107 Законопроекта)
  • В случае обнаружения на сервисе размещения объявлений информации, распространяемой с нарушением законодательства федеральный орган исполнительной власти, осуществляющий функции по контролю и надзору в сфере средств массовой информации, массовых коммуникаций, информационных технологий и связи, направляет владельцу сервиса размещения объявлений требование принять меры по устранению выявленных нарушений. В случае если в течение года будет установлено повторное неисполнение указанного требования, то такой федеральный орган вправе обратиться в суд с заявлением об ограничении доступа к сервису размещения объявлений (пункт 10 статьи 107 Законопроекта)
  • Также законопроект предусматривает обязанность владельцев сервисов размещения объявлений разместить адрес электронной почты для направления юридически значимых сообщений, а также фамилию и инициалы (для физического лица) или наименование (для юридического лица); обеспечить возможность проведения исследования объема аудитории уполномоченной организацией, обеспечить интеграцию и взаимодействие сервиса с единой системой идентификации и аутентификации и единым порталом государственных и муниципальных услуг (пункт 1 статьи 107 Законопроекта)
Что указанные выше изменения означают для бизнеса?

Принятие законопроекта будет означать новый этап в регулировании работы сервисов по размещению объявлений, бизнесу придется столкнуться с весомыми требованиями, соблюдение которых может повлиять на эффективность их развития, а также приведет к усилению контроля над IT-сектором.

Кроме того, сервисам размещения объявлений, имеющим в капитале более 20% иностранного участия, придется в течение 2 месяцев снизить долю такого участия, чтобы избежать блокировки на территории Российской Федерации. Такие экстренные меры в короткие сроки могут привести к возникновению существенных налоговых и коммерческих рисков.

На данный момент законопроект принят только в первом чтении. Мы продолжим следить за судьбой законопроекта и информировать Вас об изменениях.
Чем Б1 может помочь?

Команда Б1 готова оказать оперативное содействие в обсуждении вопросов, связанных с изменениями в части установления обязанностей владельца сервиса размещения. Наши услуги могут включать:
  • Проведение оценки налоговых и юридических рисков компании
  • Анализ структуры группы на предмет соответствия требованиям из законопроекта
  • Разработку целевой структуры компании с учетом требований закона
  • План перехода к целевой структуре с учетом налоговых и юридических последствий
  • Помощь в создании новой бизнес модели с учетом новой целевой структуры
  • Взаимодействие с органами исполнительной власти, осуществляющими функции по контролю и надзору в сфере средств массовой информации, массовых коммуникаций, информационных технологий и связи.

Авторы:
Наталья Хобракова
Ассоциированный партнер
Группа по оказанию налоговых услуг компаниям сектора технологий, отрасли связи, медиасектора и индустрии развлечений
Natalia.Khobrakova@b1.ru
Илья Понуровский
Менеджер
Группа по оказанию налоговых услуг компаниям сектора технологий, отрасли связи, медиасектора и индустрии развлечений
Ilia.Ponurovskii@b1.ru
Елизавета Каримова
Консультант
Группа по оказанию налоговых услуг компаниям сектора технологий, отрасли связи, медиасектора и индустрии развлечений
Elizaveta.Karimova@b1.ru
Свяжитесь с нами

Узнайте подробнее о наших услугах, заполнив форму обратной связи, или отправьте запрос на тендер по электронной почте. Выберите подходящий вариант.
На нашем сайте используются файлы cookies, которые делают его более удобным для каждого пользователя. Посещая страницы сайта, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.
Принять