Forthcoming VAT changes in Russia

8 July 2022
Tax Messenger
On 5 July 2022 the State Duma passed in the third reading a bill (draft law No. 136 059−8) proposing a number of amendments to Part Two of the Russian Tax Code. Among other things, the bill envisages the following changes to the VAT rules:
Changes to the rules for the payment of VAT on electronic services

  • Where a foreign entity provides electronic services to Russian companies and private entrepreneurs (so-called B2B operations), responsibility for calculating, withholding and paying VAT on those electronic services will remain with those companies and entrepreneurs, which must act as tax agents. Currently, the Tax Code requires the foreign company to register with the Russian tax authorities for VAT purposes in connection with the provision of electronic services.
  • Tax agents must calculate and pay VAT according to the rules laid down in clauses 1 and 2 of Article 161 of the Tax Code, i.e., tax must be paid to the budget on the day on which a payment is made to a foreign company.
  • However, the bill as it stands does not abolish the requirement for a foreign company to register for VAT purposes in Russia in connection with B2B operations in Russia. The bill does not contain provisions expressly rescinding obligations for foreign companies to register for tax purposes and file VAT returns.
  • Foreign entities would still be required to calculate and pay VAT on electronic services provided to Russian individuals in cases where that obligation is not borne by a tax agent (so-called B2C operations).
  • The new rules set out invoicing procedures for Russian intermediaries of foreign companies that are registered with the tax authorities and carry on business with direct involvement in settlements with customers. In particular, invoices must be issued not later than the 5th calendar day of the month following the quarter in which payment or partial payment was received for electronic services provided by the foreign companies.
  • The bill removes clause 2.1 of Article 171 of the Tax Code, which allows the recovery of VAT calculated and charged by a VAT-registered foreign company in respect of electronic services provided in Russia.
  • The register of operations provided for in clause 5 of Article 148 of the Tax Code, which confirms the place of supply of electronic services, remains in place for services provided to Russian individuals. The register is no longer required to confirm the place of supply of B2B operations.
  • The new VAT rules for electronic services are expected to come into effect from 1 October 2022.
Read more
What do these changes mean for businesses?

The proposed changes to the rules for the payment of VAT on electronic services would require the current approach to the payment of tax in Russia to be revised. In particular, foreign companies and tax agents would need to reconfigure their accounting systems in line with the new requirements, review current contract provisions and adjust the formats of invoices and source documents.

Also, the process of adopting the new VAT mechanism would require advance planning, since the bill does not establish a transitional period. This means that foreign companies would need to discuss the new rules (including commercial implications) with their Russian counterparties.
How can B1 help?

The B1 team can provide prompt support in discussing matters relating to changes in the VAT rules for electronic services. Our services may include:
  • Analysing the provisions of contracts with counterparties, preparing necessary adjustments and making amendments to contracts
  • Participating in negotiations with counterparties
  • Reviewing invoice and source document templates and making adjustments as necessary
  • Reviewing transition issues and preparing a roadmap (based on the volume of electronic services, the type of services (B2B or B2C), and invoices issued and paid / not paid)
  • Evaluating tax risks for a foreign company and a tax agent if the company decides to deregister for tax purposes in Russia
  • Assessing the need to register for tax purposes for foreign companies that are only at the stage of planning to provide electronic services to Russian companies and private entrepreneurs
  • Communication with the Federal Tax Service and/or the Ministry of Finance of Russia to obtain clarifications on the new VAT rules for electronic services.
Other VAT changes

The bill adds the following items to the range of operations not deemed subject to VAT:
  • The provision of free services to connect gas-using equipment to gas networks in dwellings owned by individuals (subsection 22 of clause 2 of Article 146 of the Tax Code)
  • The provision of free gas transmission and transportation services to individuals if the gas is used to ensure the continuous burning of an Eternal Flame and the periodic burning of a Memorial Flame at military burial grounds and memorials (subsection 23 of clause 2 of Article 146 of the Tax Code).

Amounts of input VAT on goods (work, services) purchased for the purposes of the above operations may be reclaimed and do not have to be subsequently restored (paid back) (paragraph 1 of subsection 2 of clause 3 of Article 170 of the Tax Code).

The new rules extend / amend the list of non-taxable operations:
  • VAT will not be chargeable on sales of property and property rights to an individual by a foreign entity if the individual was a controlling person and/or founder of that entity as at 31 December 2021 in accordance with clause 60.2 of Article 217 of the Tax Code (subsection 39 of clause 2 of Article 149 of the Tax Code).
  • The bill makes amendments to subsection 15 of clause 3 of Article 149 of the Tax Code according to which operations involving the financing of participation in credit (a loan) in monetary form, including interest thereon, would be exempt from VAT.
  • Amendments are made to subsection 9 of clause 3 of Article 149 of the Tax Code which provide a VAT exemption for sales of precious metals in ingot form and polished natural diamonds by banks to individuals.

A 0% VAT rate would apply to sales of rough and polished diamonds to the State Precious Metal and Precious Stone Fund of the Russian Federation, regional precious metal and precious stone funds and banks (and to other organisations in the case of sales of rough diamonds) by taxpayers which carry out the extraction of precious stones (subsection 6.1 of clause 2 of Article 164 of the Tax Code).

The bill makes amendments to subsection 10 of clause 1 of Article 164 of the Tax Code according to which a 0% VAT rate would also apply to sales in 2022 of vessels owned by a Russian leasing company and registered in the Russian International Register of Vessels, provided that the documents specified in Article 165 of the Tax Code are submitted to the tax authorities.

Authors:
Vadim Ilyin
Partner
Indirect Tax Group
Yulia Kolesnikova
Senior Manager
Indirect Tax Group
Alena Bodrova
Manager
Indirect Tax Group
Contact us

Learn more about our services by filling in the feedback form, or send us a request for proposal by email. Select the appropriate option.
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. If you continue on this website, you will be providing your consent to our use of cookies.
Accept

Грядущие изменения в области обложения НДС в России

8 июля 2022 г.
Tax Messenger
5 июля 2022 г. в третьем чтении Госдумой был принят законопроект № 136059-8 (далее – «Законопроект»), предусматривающий ряд изменения во вторую часть НК РФ. Среди прочего, Законопроект предусматривает следующие изменения в законодательство об НДС:
Изменяется порядок уплаты НДС по электронным услугам

  • При оказании иностранной организацией электронных услуг в адрес российских юридических лиц и индивидуальных предпринимателей (так называемые B2B-операции), обязанность исчислить, удержать и уплатить НДС в бюджет по электронным услугам возникает у таких юридических лиц и ИП, которые должны выступить налоговыми агентами. В настоящий момент НК РФ такое обязательство возлагает на иностранную организацию, которая должна встать на учет в РФ для целей НДС в связи с оказанием электронных услуг
  • Налоговые агенты исчисляют и уплачивают НДС в порядке, предусмотренном пп. 1 и 2 ст. 161 НК РФ, то есть налог подлежит уплате в бюджет в день перечисления платежа в адрес иностранной организации
  • При этом в настоящий момент Законопроект не отменяет обязательство иностранной организации о постановке на учет для целей НДС в РФ в связи с осуществлением B2B-операций в России. Законопроект не содержит явных положений, отменяющих для иностранных организаций обязательства по постановке на налоговый учет, а также по подготовке и подаче налоговых деклараций по НДС
  • За иностранной организацией сохраняется обязательство исчислить и уплатить НДС при оказании электронных услуг в адрес российских физических лиц, в случае если такое обязательство не возложено на налогового агента (так называемые B2C-операции);
  • Новые правила предусматривают порядок выставления счетов-фактур для российских посредников иностранных организаций, состоящих на учете в налоговых органах и осуществляющих предпринимательскую деятельность с участием в расчетах непосредственно с покупателями. В частности, счета-фактуры выставляются в срок не позднее пяти календарных дней месяца, следующего за истекшим кварталом, в котором получена оплата, частичная оплата в счет оказания иностранными организациями электронных услуг;
  • Законопроект исключает пункт 2.1. ст. 171 НК РФ, предусматривающий право на вычет НДС по электронным услугам, исчисленного и предъявленного иностранной компанией, состоящей на учете в налоговых органах в связи с оказанием электронных услуг в РФ
  • Реестр операций, предусмотренный п. 5 ст. 148 НК РФ и подтверждающий место оказания электронных услуг, сохраняется в отношении услуг, оказываемых в адрес российских физических лиц. Такой реестр больше не требуется для подтверждения места осуществления B2B-операций
  • Предполагается, что новые правила обложения НДС электронных услуг вступят в силу с 1 октября 2022 года.
Читать далее
Что указанные выше изменения означают для бизнеса?

Предполагаемые изменения в части порядка уплаты НДС по электронным услугам требуют пересмотра текущего подхода к уплате налога в России. В частности, иностранным организациям, а также налоговым агентам потребуется настроить учетные системы в соответствии с новыми требованиями налогового законодательства РФ, провести диагностику имеющихся положений в договорах, а также внести уточнения в формат выставляемых счетов и первичных документов.

Также требуется заранее проанализировать порядок перехода на новый механизм уплаты НДС в российский бюджет, поскольку Законопроектом не установлен переходный период. Соответственно, новые правила налогообложения потребуют от иностранных организаций обсуждения (в том числе, коммерческих аспектов) со своими российскими контрагентами.
Чем Б1 может помочь?

Команда Б1 готова оказать оперативное содействие в обсуждении вопросов, связанных с изменением подхода к уплате НДС по электронным услугам. Наши услуги могут включать:
  • Анализ положений договоров с контрагентами, подготовку необходимых поправок и внесение изменений в договоры
  • Участие в переговорах с контрагентами
  • Анализ и внесение соответствующих уточнений в шаблоны счетов и первичных документов;
  • Анализ вопросов переходного периода и разработку «дорожной карты» (с учетом объема оказанных электронных услуг, типа операций — B2B или B2C, а также выставленных и оплаченных / не оплаченных счетов)
  • Оценку налоговых рисков для иностранной организации и налогового агента в случае принятия иностранной организацией решения о снятии с налогового учета в России
  • Анализ необходимости постановки на учет для тех иностранных организаций, которые только планируют оказывать электронные услуги в адрес российских юридических лиц и ИП
  • Взаимодействие с Федеральной налоговой службой и/или Министерством финансов РФ по вопросам разъяснения нового порядка обложения НДС электронных услуг.
Прочие изменения по НДС

Законопроект расширяет перечень операций, не признаваемых объектом обложения НДС. К таким операциям относятся:
  • оказание бесплатных услуг по подключению к газораспределительным сетям газоиспользующего оборудования в домовладениях, которые принадлежат физическим лицам (пп. 22 п. 2 ст. 146 НК РФ)
  • оказание бесплатных услуг физическим лицам по передаче газа и его транспортировке по сетям, если такой газ используется для обеспечения постоянного горения Вечного огня и периодического горения Огня памяти на воинских захоронениях и мемориалах (пп. 23 п. 2 ст. 146 НК РФ).

При этом соответствующие суммы входящего НДС в отношении товаров (работ, услуг), приобретаемых для целей осуществления вышеуказанных операций, могут быть приняты к вычету и не требуют восстановления (абз.1 пп.2 п. 3. ст. 170 НК РФ).


Новые правила расширяют / уточняют список операций, не облагаемых НДС:
  • Не будет подлежать обложению НДС реализация имущества и имущественных прав физическому лицу — налогоплательщику иностранной организацией, если такое физическое лицо являлось контролирующим лицом и (или) учредителем такой организации по состоянию на 31 декабря 2021 года в соответствии с п. 60.2 ст. 217 НК РФ. (пп. 39 п. 2 ст. 149 НК РФ)
  • Законопроект вносит изменения в пп. 15 п. 3 ст. 149 НК РФ, в соответствии с которыми освобождаются от обложения НДС операции финансирования участия в кредите (займе) в денежной форме, включая проценты по ним
  • Вносятся изменения в пп. 9 п. 3 ст. 149 НК РФ, в соответствии с которыми освобождаются от обложения НДС реализация драгоценных металлов в слитках и обработанных природных алмазов банками физическим лицам.

Ставка НДС 0% будет применяться к реализации необработанных и обработанных природных алмазов Государственному фонду драгоценных металлов и драгоценных камней РФ, фондам драгоценных металлов и драгоценных камней субъектов РФ, ЦБ РФ, банкам и иным организациям (если таким иным организациям реализуются необработанные природные алмазы) налогоплательщиками, осуществляющими добычу драгоценных камней (пп. 6.1 п. 2 ст. 164 НК РФ).

Законопроект вносит изменения в пп. 10 п. 1 ст. 164 НК РФ, в соответствии с которыми ставка НДС 0% также применяется к реализации в 2022 году судов, принадлежащих на праве собственности российской лизинговой компании и зарегистрированных в Российском международном реестре судов, при предоставлении в налоговые органы документов, указанных в ст. 165 НК РФ.

Авторы:
Вадим Ильин
Партнер
Группа по оказанию услуг в области косвенного налогообложения
Юлия Колесникова
Директор
Группа по оказанию услуг в области косвенного налогообложения
Алена Бодрова
Менеджер
Группа по оказанию услуг в области косвенного налогообложения
Свяжитесь с нами

Узнайте подробнее о наших услугах, заполнив форму обратной связи, или отправьте запрос на тендер по электронной почте. Выберите подходящий вариант.
На нашем сайте используются файлы cookies, которые делают его более удобным для каждого пользователя. Посещая страницы сайта, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.
Принять